Medical Support

We arrange appropriate medical and surgical treatment for those children from our children’s home who need it. Volunteer doctors and dentists from a variety of countries, including, Hong Kong, USA, Canada and Malaysia, pay regular visits. They offer their specialist skills, helping to diagnose conditions, and advise resident doctors on treatment plans.

The Story of Zhuo Ma

Thirteen-year old Zhuo Ma who lives at Huangnan Children’s Home is one of the children, we have arranged surgery for.

Zhuo Ma’s face and hand were badly burnt in a fire when she was two years old.  We brought Zhuo Ma to Hong Kong for corrective surgery in 2011. Growing up, Zhuo Ma had learnt to cope with limited use of her left hand, and never asked for help or complained. She washed her hair, her clothes and did her chores, like all the other little girls. Doctors helped restore some of the functionality through surgery, and a physiotherapist helped her to regain some of the strength and mobility she had lost through disuse. Zhuo Ma realizes that her disability is not as debilitating as she thought, and she wants to be a teacher, so she can teach children that the world is a big place, and the sky is the limit!

Doctors also released skin around her left eye, where scar tissue was preventing her eye from closing completely. With long term exposure to her cornea, she could have lost the sight in that eye. The surgery was a huge success. She was released from hospital in September 2011 and returned to Huangnan Children’s Home in October 2011.

Since 2008, Christian Action has arranged and sponsored over 200 medical treatments or surgeries for our children.

 

 

Medical Care in Qinghai

Medical professionals from Canning Garden Baptist Church in Malaysia visited Xining Children’s Home in August 2012. Afterwards they generously gave their time and shared their medical expertise with medical staff from Qinghai Charity Hospital. Financial constraints prevent the charity hospital from performing major surgery, severely limiting their medical staff’s scope of experience. The opportunity to exchange information with Malaysian doctors was a true gift!

The guests then travelled to remote regions of Guoluo to attend to the medical needs of Tibetan villagers, who would normally need to travel many miles from their villages simply to see a doctor.

Perfect Smiles for Huangnan

In June 2012, Dr Eilly Lau and a team of 16 dental professionals from the Kong Society of Paediatric Dentistry travelled to Qinghai, at their own expense. They went to provide the poorest of the poor, orphans and abandoned children living in Huangnan Children’s Home with much needed free dental treatment.

372 children, 40 staff members, 196 extractions, 183 fillings and 277 dental scalings later, Dr Lau and her team were able to pat each other on their aching backs, for a job well done! Four days bent over their patients left them exhausted, and used up all their supplies, but their sense of accomplishment was unequalled. The weary group then packed up their equipment, and waved goodbye to their grateful patients.

How You Can Help:

Click to donate. Or visit Get Involved for creative ways to plug-in and help!

.
You are here: Home Our Programs IN CHINA Medical Support

醫療援助

如兒童福利院內的孩子患病或有需要接受手術時,基督教勵行均會盡力為他們安排或轉介合適的醫療服務及手術。另外,本會亦不時安排香港和海外的義工醫生隊伍為院內兒童作身體檢查,曾到訪的義工隊伍包括威爾斯親王醫院醫生團、美國醫生團、香港中醫團、香港牙醫團、加拿大牙醫團及馬來西亞桂和園浸信會醫護團隊。

卓瑪的故事

住在黃南州兒童福利院的卓瑪便是其中一個例子。卓瑪在兩歲的時候,左邊臉被嚴重燒傷,眼皮被疤痕拉扯而無法緊閉,左手也被傷至不見五指,無法正常活動。

經基督教勵行會的轉介下,她於2011年8月從黃南州到香港進行手術,展開康復之旅。看似內向的她,其實很樂觀開朗,她不會因為自己的臉而自卑,也很願意跟別人分享想法。她說長大後想當老師,讓人學到更多知識,有機會到不同地方體驗生活。雖然左手的傷患不影響右手寫字,但是她要洗頭或洗衣服,仍是很困難。她很努力克服身體的缺陷,例如吃飯的時候,她無法拿著碗,就會用小拳頭把桌上的碗慢慢推到面前。小小年紀的她,便要克服身體缺陷帶來的困難。

為卓瑪動手術的醫生,從卓瑪大腿移植一小片皮膚至眼角,令她的左眼能完全閉合,防止眼球因長期暴露而損害角膜,導致失明。醫生亦延長她的左手肌腱和指骨,令她可以重新活動。手術過程十分順利,大大改善了她的自理能力,更增加了她的自信。最後她於2011年10月底回到黃南州兒童院。

由1998年至2013年6月,本會為院內孩子共安排了超過200項於本港及內地的手術治療。

 

 

 

 

從大馬而來的愛心服務

2012年8月,馬來西亞桂和園浸信會醫護團隊為我們西寧巿兒童福利院的兒童、西寧巿貧窮人士及偏遠的果洛自治州的藏民檢查身體或作簡單診治。團隊亦和青海福利慈善醫院的醫護人員分享經驗。由於這醫院主要靠捐款來維持運作,營運資金有限,大型手術經驗不多,因此,這次交流令當地醫護人員獲益不淺。

醫護團其後更探訪偏遠的果洛州藏族村落,他們還特地由馬來西亞帶來的醫療用品包,為藏民提供簡單診治,陪同他們的當地官員均十分欣賞他們的專業態度及精神,甘願為居於偏遠荒蕪的果洛州的病人作無私奉獻!

牙醫義工團

2012年6月,香港兒童齒科學會主席劉惠心醫生率領16位香港牙醫及護士,帶著大箱小箱的工具和物資,一同遠赴青海黃南州兒童福利院,義務為院內兒童提供牙齒保健。

這次,醫護人員共為了372名兒童及40名員工檢查口腔,亦為他們提供牙齒護理包括為227人洗牙、脫牙數目共196顆及補牙等183顆。劉醫生和一眾義工一連四天、每天站立一整天的工作,不單腰酸背痛、體力透支,連補牙物料全都用完了;然而,能幫助一班孩子他們都感到十分滿足,承諾會再來。

您如何幫助我們:

請即按此捐款,或瀏覽 「您的參與 」,以具創意的方式支持我們!

.
您目前位置:首頁 我們的工作 在中國 醫療援助